Bloodied and Blistered: A Story of Comparison

Stop judging and evaluating yourself.

Stop putting yourself down because you don’t think you’re involved enough or have enough friends or aren’t invited to all of the parties.

Don’t feel bad for eating alone sometimes.

Don’t be mad at yourself for taking a night off to watch Netflix while every body else is out doing something.

Certainly don’t feel bad about going to the library to study alone when there’s study groups all around you.

These are only small things but they lead up to a very real and big thing:

they absolutely stomp on and steal your joy.

Talking to my friends lately, I’ve realized one constant medium that has remained a staple in every conversation, and that’s the question “what’re you doing tonight?”,  or something to that extent. 90% of the time you can absolutely tell that it is out of comparison.

My only question is why in the world do we do that to ourselves? Why do we feel the need to compare ourselves to everybody else?

This has been a question of mine for months and months now. About a week ago, I was studying in my dorm room on a Friday night for a big statistics test. Not going to lie to you, I felt like a complete loser (even though it had to be done).

I prayed that I wouldn’t feel that way and just tear myself up like that. I looked up and saw Jesus Calling (which trust me always helps) up on my shelf and took it down. I read the February 28th page and was absolutely blown away. It read:

“Stop judging and evaluating yourself, for this is not your role. Above all, stop comparing yourself with other people. This produces feelings of pride or inferiority; sometimes, a mixtures of both. I lead each of My children along a path that is uniquely tailor-made for him or her. Comparing is not only wrong; it is also meaningless.

Don’t look for affirmation in the wrong places: your own evaluations, or those of other people. The only source of real affirmation is My unconditional Love. Many believers perceive Me as an unpleasable Judge, angrily seating out their faults and failures. Nothing could be farther from the truth! I died for your sins, so that I might clothe you in My garments of salvation. 

Be receptive to My affirmation, which flows continually…”

We beat ourselves up. Like we are brutal. We use the heaviest weapons and really…who knows our weaknesses better than ourselves (and God). We shoot right at them. We stab our weaknesses and move the knife around a little just to make sure it’s in there.

In all reality, that’s not needed. In all reality, we need to look at ourselves the way God looks at us: radiant, with potential and full of life.

Allow God to scoop your weak soul up, bloodied and blistered and all, and take you in as His own.

I have to tell myself daily that there is no need for comparison. God didn’t make the same path for everybody.

Follow your path.

Be joyful.

When you fall, embrace it, because even a fall is a blessing.

Leave a Reply

