Fancy Socks

ask Preface- Before you read this, I want you to know that this story is extremely close to my heart. A grand total of 4 people in my life know about this because I could never really make sense of it until now. It has been heavy on my heart lately, and I believe it is my turn to tell you a major part in my testimony. If you have any questions or doubts, I understand and I want to talk to you. Email me at kellie.baxter@okstate.edu When I was a junior in high school, I stopped believing God. It wasn’t teenage angst, it wasn’t because of rebellion against my parents or anything like that, I just completely stopped. I was angry at how Christians portrayed Christ and how hypocritical they were. That bitterness got deep into me and caused me to stop seeing God. There had been several deaths that year that had broken me down to the point where I was done with God. I was done talking to Him, I was done trying to seek Him, and I was done going to church. I could no longer feel Him in my life and the “lack” of His presence made me abandon Him. Period. This went on for a straight year. The doubts filled me when I was a sophomore and only worsened when I was a junior. On January 11th, 2012, I was convinced by a friend to go back to church again for a regular Wednesday service. Nothing special. They played the same David Crowder songs, sang the same Matt Redman songs, and by all means we can’t forget Chris Tomlin (no one forgets Chris Tomlin). The worship service was completely over. Our youth minister came up to speak and starting speaking words about Christ that were, at that point, extremely foreign to me. And honestly, for the life of me, I don’t remember what that sermon was about. But I remember the burning in my stomach. It felt like somebody had taken a cattle brand and literally stuck it onto my stomach. Then it started to move up into my spine and into my brain. It was that burning that made me absolutely exhausted at being mad at God. I was tired of not feeling anything. But I didn’t know where to go…I was still extremely bitter. But the burning continued. During the sermon I stood up in front of everybody and walked to the back. I didn’t know where I was going, I just knew I had to get out of there. My mentor and sunday school teacher at the time chased after me and grabbed me and said “Kellie what is wrong with you.” I looked into her eyes and just started crying. Out of nowhere. And anybody that knows me knows that I certainly don’t cry often. I repeated “I just don’t feel God anymore, I can’t see Him. He’s not here.” over and over, exasperated. She sat me down and prayed that I would be able to see God in my life again and start to see Him again. During the prayer I was convinced that I would magically feel better afterwards, but that honestly wasn’t the case. After she said Amen, I stood up, told her thank you, and went downstairs to my car. I started blasting “Cinema” by Benny Benassi and just drove home. As I exited off I-40, I drove down Hillside, a road just adjacent to my house. It seemed like I just blinked, and a car hit the car just a few feet in front of me. The red car in front of me flew up into the air, flipped 3 times, and landed hard on the hood. Glass and gas went everywhere. Tires were spinning into the street and towards my car. You know in those movies where everything is in slow motion and there’s just a ringing in your ears? That’s exactly what it was like. But a weird feeling overcomes your body. The only way I can describe it is a feeling of death. You know somebody is dead around you. You just know it. I swerved into a side street and immediately jumped out of my car. A white pickup pulled up next to me and shouted that he’d call 911. The rest was all a blur. I remember jumping out of my car and kneeling next to the car that was on its hood. I took the back window and punched the glass out and a hand came towards me. My only thought was that “there is no way this person is alive”. I grabbed the hand in front of me and pulled it out. The lady had to have been at least 65. I pulled her onto the gravel outside of her car and she stood up. Just straight up stood up. There wasn’t a scratch on her. No blood. No limping. Literally the only thing that was wrong is that she wasn’t wearing shoes and was wearing fancy socks, which made no sense to me. This car just flipped into the air 3 times and landed straight on its hood. This little and fragile lady was perfectly fine and was just wearing fancy socks and no shoes. “For everyone who asks receives; the one who seeks finds; and to the one who knocks, the door will be opened.”-Matthew 7:8 Trust me, none of this has made sense until now. It has taken until this week of my freshman year in college to realize that I have seen a miracle. After that wreck my relationship with God began again. Through undesirable circumstances, God showed me nothing short of a miracle. That lady should have been dead.  I asked for God, and he made a grand entrance through nothing short of a disaster. People say God reveals Himself in mysterious ways. God revealed Himself to me as a fragile old lady with fancy socks.

Leave a Reply

